Trevor Caffull receives the Iles Medal for significant contributions to the brass band movement

It has been announced that Trevor Caffull, Managing Director of Salvation Army Trading Company Ltd (SATCoL) has been awarded the Iles Medal, a prestigious accolade awarded for significant contributions to the brass band movement.

Since being appointed to the role of Managing Director (initially of SP&S Ltd, then later of Salvation Army Trading Co. Ltd.) Trevor has instigated the establishment of World of Brass, the largest distributor of brass recordings worldwide, the acquisition of B&H Sound (now World of Sound) and the historic brass publishing house, R. Smith & Co. (and more recently, Studio Music). As Chairman of the Brass in Concert Championships from 2005 – 2016 he helped guide expansion of the event from a one-day contest at Spennymoor to a weekend-long festival, presented at the Sage Gateshead. A Trustee of Black Dyke Band, Trevor is also a former member of The International Staff Band, which he served in for 23 years, and is currently Band Sergeant for Kettering Corps. He had a significant role in organising “ISB 120” in 2011, which saw Staff Bands from Amsterdam, Germany, Chicago, New York, Melbourne, Canada and Japan come together with the ISB in London for a week of celebrations.

Making the announcement, the Chairman of the Worshipful Company’s Brass Band Committee, Philip Morris, said: “[Trevor is a] very worthy contributor to the brass band community. In his capacity as MD of SATCOL, Trevor Caffull has supported major brass band events, livestreaming and recording enterprises”.

Speaking to Iwan Fox, editor of 4 Bars Rest, Trevor said: “It was a complete surprise! I feel honoured but unworthy of this accolade. When I look at the list of previous recipients I’m very flattered to feel that anybody would think my name should join that list”.

The Iles Medal is named after John Henry Iles (1871-1951) who was the founder of the National Brass Band Championships in 1900 - an extraordinary entrepreneur who virtually controlled the brass band movement for the first half of the 20th century. Previous recipients of the medal, which is awarded by the Worshipful Company of Musicians, include Eric Ball, BM James Williams, Col. Bernard Adams, composer Peter Graham and Stephen Cobb. 

The medal will be presented at the National Brass Band Championships Finals at the Royal Albert Hall on 6th October.